Finding My Way Back

roadmapI have always believed reading unlocked many opportunities for students. As such, as a teacher it was my mission to ensure that my students not only learned how to read, developed comprehension skills they take with them to their other class, but also developed a love of reading that continued past the time they were in my class. A couple of years ago, I took a position that took me out of the classroom. While this position allowed me to view the school from an administrators point of view, it also meant I did not have as much time to encourage the habit of reading in the students I spent my day with.

Now in my third year of not bing in the classroom, I have found that I miss the work that I did before I took my current position. This blog is my way of reconnecting to the community I feel is where I belong. I am not sure where I will be next year, but I would like to be more involved in the reading lives of students next year, than I now am.

I am so grateful for the community of people that I am able to interact with, that can help me to get back to the passion for reading that filed my desire to be a teacher. I am not active in the communities of any other curriculum area, but I cannot imagine anyone is as lucky as we, the teachers of reading and English, are.

Leave a Reply

